top of page

Suggestions for the New Year!

This is going to be a very short article. I just wanted to share a few ways I helped develop my writing this past year that you can use for this upcoming year!

Enter contests. Enter ALL THE CONTESTS. Ones that you know you’re going to lose, ones that you feel confident on, ones that won’t get you a lot of rewards. There are only two cases in which you should avoid entering a contest: if you don’t feel motivated to write in it and if there’s legitimately something to lose (like money).

Participate in National Writing Month (NANOWRIMO). Since many people have lives aside from their writing, NANOWRIMO is tricky. It’s stressful and time-consuming and perfect for writers who need to learn to manage their time and meet deadlines for creative writing projects. Especially if you dream of becoming a professional writer in any way, write in NANOWRIMO!

Work out a writing schedule. For me, planning when I’m going to write for which project is a huge help.

*

Well, that’s all from me for this week! (I’m giving myself a break for the holiday weekend!) I hope that my articles for this year have been helpful, and feel free to request articles or submit them below! Happy new year!!

Story of the Week
Tag Cloud
bottom of page