top of page

How To Keep Your Work Original

One large problem that arises from the fact that humans have been creating for thousands upon thousands of years is that sometimes, it can feel like there are no good ideas left to use. How do you get rid of this feeling and make your work original? Well, I may not know how to kick off the process, but I know how to keep your work entirely your own once you are writing it.

(I must admit, I got this tactic from an author co-hosting a Comic Con panel I sat in on. Sort of ironic, but that's besides the point.)

If you are writing a story, pitch the idea to someone while doing so, and get in response, "Oh, that sounds like [insert book title here]!" - whatever you do, don't read that book. If you read a book that is similar to your own in concept, characters, or execution of the plot, then reading it will muddy up your ideas and you will essentially start to write fanfiction bordering on plagiarization. That's the last thing any unique author wants!

Now, once you're done with your book entirely - with editing, with distribution (be it digital or publishing), with literally everything - then feel free to read the other book. Only then are you out of the woods. Your ideas are out of your head and on the page, meaning that they can't be changed. It's now safe to read stories of a similar plot line.

This advice is perhaps the simplest I have ever published on my website. After all, all that it entails is literally not doing something. I ask you to keep it in mind, however, while writing - if someone attempts to explain a similar story to you, quickly shut it down.

I wish you all the best of luck in keeping your stories as unique as possible, and I'll see you next week!

Story of the Week
Tag Cloud
bottom of page