top of page

Mother of Writers

I have never really been a writer. Not for want of trying, though. I dabbled in poetry when I was (much) younger, and I certainly thought I had talent. But years later, when I found my stash of poems, I realized I had maybe inflated my abilities. Actually, I was mortified at how cliché it all sounded. Throughout middle and high school, I would have given anything to be able to write even a short story. But everything I wrote was forced, and I could never figure out decent endings. My stories did not burn out, they faded away. I have always loved reading, and escaping into a story was and is my main escape from reality. I think what we read helps to form us, and teaches us about ourselves. So it was frustrating to me to not be able to create my own stories.

When I had a child of my own, I started reading to her right away. By the time she was two months old, I would hold up picture books and read them to her – and she was happy to listen and stare at the pictures for surprising amounts of time. I knew before she was born that I wanted her to associate books and reading with feelings of warmth, comfort, and love. I am pretty sure I succeeded! She is now writing stories and books of her own, and is (in my totally unbiased opinion) an amazing author. She has a gift with words that I dreamed of having at her age, and her little brother is following in her footsteps.

When my kids first started writing, I recognized what they wrote. They were mimicking stories they had heard or read, and putting their own style to them. I think this was the perfect first step, though in no time at all they discovered their own voices, and began creating from their own ideas. I am happy for them that they both have this outlet, and I love learning about them through what they write. I feel like there are sides of their personalities that come out through their writing that might not come out in conversation. Their writing offers a glimpse into their minds. I am also impressed at how they can be disciplined about finishing their pieces. For my daughter, especially, when she talks about writing you can almost imagine she is talking about a job, not something she does in her free time. She is organized and driven, and I know these traits will serve her for her whole life, no matter what she decides to do. I think writing is a gift they have that gives back to them, and to me as a proud mom who gets to experience their work!

(I’ve gotten slightly better at endings. Maybe…)

Story of the Week
Tag Cloud
bottom of page