top of page

The Purpose of Writing For Me

The purpose of anything always has a deep meaning. The meaning of reading, in my opinion, is to escape. To travel to another world, to escape from anything you wish and everything that you fear. The purpose of writing, I believe, is to create. To create the world where you are free from the things that make you want to escape, only everything is just how you imagined it.

The purpose of writing is to let those emotions that are so deep down inside be released. Writing in math class helps you create a world where you are not confused. Writing in social studies helps you create a world where you are the most powerful. Writing, in general, helps you fight your demons and find your angels. For me, reading helped me escape my demons but did not help me fight them. I did not actually find my angels until I started writing, if that is short stories no longer than a page, poetry, or a full-blown novel.

Writing extremely helped me with some emotions that I had no idea how to explain or even deal with. If you do not know, I have anorexia and depression. Everyone's demons vary, but someone is always facing something in their life that they just do not know how to overcome at that moment. Sometimes escaping is all you need, but sometimes you really need to create. Create a world where finally everything you desire is done and where you are not alone, where you are you, and to me, that is the purpose of writing.

Story of the Week
Tag Cloud
bottom of page